Posted by: mattburleigh | July 22, 2014

Trip down memory lane – Preston 1st XI 1988

I’ve been going through the many packets of photos I took as a teenager. There’s a lot of planes landing at Luton, which is very boring if you don’t like planes but most are of airlines, airliners and colour schemes that no longer exist. I also took a lot of boring pictures of things: ruined castles, old buildings, and a lot of out of focus crap. A few of the family and friends that I’ll get round to scanning and posting one day.

I also found some of Preston Cricket Club batting at the Recreation Ground (now known affectionately as the “Field of Dreams”). These were taken in the summer of 1988, when I was 16, and this would I think have been my second season with the club. This is either the Saturday or Sunday 1st XI, I can’t be sure, and neither do I have any record of the opposition. But I was already playing 1st XI sometimes at that age (as a bowler; I couldn’t hit it off the square!). I suppose it’s a little poignant. None of these gentlemen play at the club today. Chris Hollis (who may have been captain) lives in Australia. I think Terry Tillyer still lives in Hitchin. Marcus Baines carried on the longest, playing his last game about 9 years ago. I opened the batting for many years for the 2nd XI with Marcus, and learned a lot about the game from him.

I now live in Spindle Cottage that you can see in one of the photos. That wall could do with a paint today! Note also the lack of trees along the roadside compared to today.

 

Mike Cashin slogging to leg

Mike Cashin slogging to leg

[Untitled]001

Chris Hollis driving

Chris Day cutting

Chris Day cutting

[Untitled]001

Terry Tillyer driving

Marcus Baines defends in his own style

Marcus Baines defends in his own style

Bainesy: "One run!"

Bainesy: “One run!”

Leave a Reply

Categories

